Perception – (1)obs: CONSCIOUSNESS (2)a: a result of perceiving: OBSERVATION b: a mental image: CONCEPT (3)a: awareness of the elements of environment through physical sensation b: physical sensation interpreted in the light of experience (4)a: quick, acute, and intuitive cognition: APPRECIATION

b: a capacity for comprehension

syn see DISCERNMENT

PERCEPTION

IT’S A DARK NIGHT ON THIS SIDE OF THE OCEAN, I’VE MADE MY WAY THROUGH THE SEMI-DARKNSS TO THE BEACH. THE LIGHT OF THE MOON IS HIDDEN BEHIND OMINOUSLY FOREBODING CLOUDS. I CONTINUE THROUGH THE SHADOWED SAND SEARCHING FOR A PLACE. SURELY, I’LL KNOW IT WHEN I FIND IT. PURPOSEFULLY, I PROCEED THROUGH THE TWILIGHT. I WIND MY WAY AROUND SOME ROCKS, MY EYES WATCHING MY FEET ALL THE WHILE- WARNING THEM TO STEP CAREFULLY. I STOP AND LIFT MY HEAD TO APPRECIATE THE EXPERIENCE. STRAIGHT AHEAD OF ME I SEE LAYERS UPON LAYERS OF WHITE CLOUDS CRASHING IN THE DARKNESS. I STAND STILL; YET, THERE IS MOVEMENT ALL AROUND ME. THE WIND SEEMS TO BE DANCING WITH MY CLOTHING…MY HAIR…THE SMELL OF THE SEA SURROUNDS ME. I BREATHE DEEPLY TAKING IT IN, HOPING THAT SOMEHOW, WHEN I EXHALE, MY CONCERNS WILL GO WITH THE BREATH THAT HAS HAD ITS TURN IN MY BODY. I WAIT, REALIZING NOTHING HAS CHANGED. THE CRASH OF THE WAVES IS THUNDEROUS. IT ALMOST SEEMS TO BLOCK OUT THE NOISE OF MY LIFE…THE UNPLEASANT… NOISE… OF… MY LIFE. I STAND STILL FEELING THE COOL OCEAN BREEZE ON MY FACE, ENJOYING THE EXPERIENCE IN SPITE OF WHAT’S BROUGHT ME HERE. I STAND STILL IN THE TWILIGHT…WIND DANCING THROUGH MY CLOTHES AND HAIR, THE SALT-SEA SMELL ALL AROUND ME, THE SOUND OF WAVES ROARING IN MY EARS, WITH THE ROUGH WHITE FOAM COMING STRAIGHT TOWARDS ME! I AM FILLED WITH CONCERN. I WONDER WHICH WAY I SHOULD TURN. IN THE DARKNESS, I SCAN THE BEACH TO MY LEFT. THERE IS NO HELP. IT’S GETTING DARK AND IN THE DISTANCE IT APPEARS TO BE A FOGGY NIGHT. I QUICKLY LOOK TO MY RIGHT. I AM GREETED BY THE SAME CIRCUMSTANCE. I LOOK STRAIGHT AHEAD. THE ROARING, CRASHING, WAVES SEEM AN ALMOST UNNATURAL WHITE AS THEY CONTINUE TO MAKE THEIR WAY TOWARD ME, THREATENING TO OVERTAKE ME AND CARRY ME OUT TO SEA WHERE I’LL BE AT THEIR MERCY…KNOWING THAT THEY HAVE NO MERCY…NO, I WILL GO NO FURTHER. I STAND, CONSIDERING MY OPTIONS, FILLED WITH MY CONCERN. PERHAPS, I SHOULD CONSIDER TURNING BACK THE WAY I CAME…NO! THAT IS NOT AN OPTION. TURMOIL AND TORTURE AND TIRADES DROVE ME HERE. I WILL NOT GO BACK THE SAME WAY I CAME. I REALIZE I AM AT THE END OF MY OPTIONS. TO GO BACK IS MORE OF THE SAME; TO GO BACK IS CERTAIN DEATH. TO MY LEFT OR RIGHT, IT IS SO HAZY AND UNCLEAR AND I CANNOT SEE…I CANNOT SEE …STRAIGHT AHEAD AND I’M IN THE GRASP OF UNCONTROLLABLE FORCES THAT WILL SHOW ME NO MERCY. IF I TRAVEL THE WAY I CAME, I WILL SURELY DIE. THERE’S MORE THAN ONE WAY TO DIE IN THIS WORLD…THERE’S MORE THAN ONE WAY TO DIE…YET, I CAME HERE BECAUSE I LONG TO LIVE. I LONG TO LIVE AND TO THRIVE. SO HERE I STAND AT THE END OF MY OPTIONS…THERE’S ONE WAY I HAVEN’T TRIED. Slowly, I lift up my head as my heart starts to listen to a quiet still voice from inside. In my spirit, I begin to petition my Holy Father on High. I ask for the wisdom and courage I’ll need to confront what I must…on this walk…through this world…called my life. A few moments longer, a few whispered words in truth and humility and I leave the beach with the assurance of peace, wiping tears that had flooded my eyes.

The world seems changed…Yet, I can’t see change! Surely, it’s something inside. The quiet still voice responds to my thoughts and suddenly I realize, it’s not what I see, but how I see that’s brought such a change to my life. Suddenly, my perception has changed since I’ve believed on my Lord Jesus Christ.

