January 20, 2009 has arrived. So many are excited and I must admit I’m one of them. Once again, the eyes of the world are focused on our nation and this period in our history- this period in world history. President-elect Barack Obama will take the oath of office today (in less than two hours). Record crowds started to flow in earlier than expected in an effort to secure a spot for the big event. I, on the otherhand, have secured a spot on a comfy couch in my living room. I plan to watch this significant event snuggled under a floral quilt with a cup of hot tea in hand.

It seems quite apropos that yesterday was our national observation of the Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday and now today the first president-elect who also happens to be a Black man is being sworn in as The United States of  America’s 44th President.  I pray for him and his lovely family and will do so often. 

I’ve heard the question asked many times in the last couple of months, has Martin Luther King Jr.’s dream been realized- is the election of Barack Obama the culmination of the dream?  Unfortunately, no this country has certainly not become a walking manifestation of Dr. King’s dream.  Yet, it is quite a significant step for our nation with its tormented past.  For those of you who can’t quite seem to understand that I have to liken it to the thrill of the first man walking on the moon-what actually comes to mind is the statement Neil Armstrong made when he took a step on the moon saying, “One small step for (a) man, one giant leap for mankind!”  This is a thrilling day.  Once again, I urge you not to miss this moment.  In the history of this country and even amongst international communities this is no small day!  So join in the celebration and be blessed!  It is so worth it!  My goodness!  It’s time to get back to my spot on the couch! I wouldn’t miss this and I know I’m not the only one.  Be blessed!

